On Tuesday, May 19th, the White House will honor twelve former foster youth as “Champions of Change” because they are making a difference in their communities. The program will feature remarks by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and Deputy Assistant to the President for Urban Affairs, Justice and Opportunity Roy L. Austin Jr. The honorees include:

Nicole Dobbins, Executive Director of Voice for Adoption;

David Ambroz, Executive Director of Corporate Citizenship & Social Responsibility for Disney|ABC Television Group;

Maria Burgos, college senior graduating later this month with a degree in Health and Human Biology;

Sixto Cancel, college student and a Young Adult Consultant with the Children’s Bureau, working in the Center for State Capacity;

Daryle Conquering Bear Crow (Oglala Lakota), Healthy Living Program Assistant at the Denver Indian Family Resource Center;

Chelsea Faver, Second Lieutenant in the United States Marine Corps;

Mary Lee; National YVLifeSet Coordinator for Youth Villages; Sokhom Mao; Juvenile Justice Commissioner for Alameda County;

Lupe Ortiz-Tovar; manager consultant coordination, engagement, and communication efforts with JBS International Inc.;

Briana Osbourne, a Youth Peer Mentor at Visions Unlimited, Inc., Sacramento;

Eriq Swiftwater, member of the Oglala Sioux Tribe on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation; and

George White, Program Assistant at the National Foster Youth Institute as well as a Founding Member of Fostering Change.

The event will be live streamed on the White House website and can be watched live at: www.whitehouse.gov/live on May 19th at 9:00AM ET. The Champions of Change program was created by the White House to feature individuals doing extraordinary things to empower and inspire members of their communities. To learn more about the White House Champions of Change program.