Child Welfare League of America Making Children a National Priority


Child Welfare League of America Making Children a National Priority
About Us
Special Initiatives
News and Media Center
Research and Data
Conferences and Training
Culture and Diversity
Support CWLA
CWLA Members Only Content

Home > About Us > Who We Are and What We Do > Child Welfare History


Child Welfare History

1909 White House holds first national Conference on the Care of Dependent Children
1912 U.S. Children's Bureau established - the Federal government's first venture into the field of social services other than public health and education
1914 - 1918 World War I
1920 CWLA Founded
1920 - 1930 CWLA's efforts lead to the development of the first national child welfare standards of practice
1921 CWLA's first Executive Director, C.C. Carstens, takes office
1922 CWLA's journal, Child Welfare, originally entitled Bulletin, begins publication
1930 - 1940 The Great Depression
1935 Social Security Act establishes aid to dependent children and Child Welfare services
1938 Fair Labor Standards Act outlaws child labor
1940 - 1945 World War II
1942 Congress authorizes state grants to provide day care for children of women in war work.

Temporary boom in day care
1946 National School Lunch Act provides grants to states
1953 U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare established, replacing Federal Security Agency.
1954 Brown v. Board of Education rules racial segregation unconstitutional.
1959 General Assembly of the United Nations adopts Declaration of the Rights of the Child.

Maas and Engler's Children in Need of Parents, published by CWLA, heralds the move to permanency planning.

1960 JFK's election inaugurates a decade of social service legislation.

1960 - 1965 CWLA Standards for Child Protective Services leads to mandatory child abuse reporting laws in most states.

1960 - 1970 The War on Poverty

1964 Civil Right Act prohibits racial discrimination in employment.

1971 CWLA helps to establish the National Foster Parents Association.

1974 Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act becomes law.

1976 Florence Crittenton Association merges with CWLA.

1977 CWLA and FSA launch Council on Accreditation for Children and Family Services.

1978 Indian Child Welfare Act passed, establishing requirements for child welfare agencies when serving Native American children and families.

1980 Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act become law.

1985 - 1990 CWLA's efforts on Capital Hill lead to enactment of the Independent Living, Postlegal Adoption, and Section 8 Family Unification Programs.

1990 ABC Child Care and Development Act, the first comprehensive national child care legislation, takes effect.

1993 CWLA cochairs the coalition that spearheads passage of the $1 billion Family Preservation and Support Act.

1996 Congress passes a welfare reform bill that eliminates needy children's entitlement to AFDC, substituting a welfare block grant to the states.

CWLA establishes a Managed Care Institute.

1997 CWLA advocacy results in passage of the Adoption and Safe Families Act, promoting child safety and permanency.

CWLA supports passage of the State Child Health Insurance Program, which provides $48 billion to states over 10 years to expand child health care coverage.

American Association of Psychiatric Services for Children merges with CWLA, forming a new child mental health division.

1998 CWLA inaugurates the Children's Memorial Flag project and creates the CWLA Walker Trieschman Center.

1999 Congress passes the Foster Care Independence Act, creating the Chafee Foster Care Independence Program.

2000 CWLA Juvenile Justice Division created.

CWLA launches a 10-year strategic plan and begins work on its National Framework to reduce victimization and enhance the well-being of America's children and youth.

2001 CWLA begins a national effort to prioritize the needs of children and families before enacting a tax cut.

Congress declares the fourth Friday in April as Children's Memorial Flag Day; all 50 states fly or display the flag or hold official commemorative events.

2002 Congress passes juvenile justice legislation that, for the first time, acknowledges and sets federal policy to take into account early childhood maltreatment and the link to later onset of delinquency.

2004 President Bush proposes optional state block grant that would provide IV-E funding as a five-year fixed allocation. CWLA launches successful effort opposing the plan.

Senator Hillary Clinton addresses CWLA National Conference and announces introduction of kinship care legislation.

2006 Representative Jim McDermott addresses CWLA National Conference and announces major child welfare reform legislation.

2007 Christine James-Brown becomes CWLA's 10th President/CEO.

2008 CWLA begins major national initiative to reestablish the decentennial White House Conference on Children and Youth.

CWLA plays leading role in enactment of the Fostering Connections and Increasing Adoptions Act, which includes major child welfare reforms such as kinship/guardianship reimbursements under Title IV-E.

 Back to Top   Printer-friendly Page Printer-friendly Page   Contact Us Contact Us




About Us | Special Initiatives | Advocacy | Membership | News & Media Center | Practice Areas | Support CWLA
Research/Data | Publications | Webstore | Conferences/Training | Culture/Diversity | Consultation/Training

All Content and Images Copyright Child Welfare League of America. All Rights Reserved.
See also Legal Information, Privacy Policy, Browser Compatibility Statement

CWLA is committed to providing equal employment opportunities and access for all individuals.
No employee, applicant for employment, or member of the public shall be discriminated against
on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, or
any other personal characteristic protected by federal, state, or local law.