An E-bulletin brought to you by The Child Welfare League of America


National Adoption Excellence Awards Now Taking Nominations

7/11/2007:   The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) is looking for individuals or programs that have made a significant contribution to promoting successful adoptions of children from foster care through its annual Adoption Excellence Award.

Each year ACF recognizes individuals, families, and organizations for their leadership, innovation, and dedication to finding permanent, loving homes for children in care. Awardees can include states, public agencies, universities, tribes, courts, families, faith-based organizations, and businesses. Awards are made in 10 categories:
  • decrease in the length of time children in foster care wait for adoption,
  • increased adoptions of older children,
  • interjurisdictional adoptions,
  • faith-based initiatives,
  • support for adoptive families,
  • individual and/or family contributions,
  • philanthropy and/or business contributions,
  • judicial or child welfare system improvement,
  • adoption of minority children from foster care, and
  • media/public awareness of adoption from foster care.
To nominate someone or to make a self-nomination by August 17, visit the Children's Bureau website.

Click here to see the list of past issues.

If you know of others who would like their names added to this list, please have them visit www.cwla.org/wer4kdz/wer4kdz.htm. To remove yourself from this list, send an e-mail to wer4kdz@cwla.org with "Remove from WeR4Kdz List" in the subject line.

© Child Welfare League of America. The content of this publication may not be reproduced in any way, including posting on the Internet, without the permission of CWLA. For permission to use material from CWLA's website or publications, contact us using our website assistance form.

The contents of WeR4Kdz do not necessarily reflect the views of the Child Welfare League of America nor represent an endorsement of opinions, products, or services.