Children's Voice November/
December 2008


In This Issue...

Features
Departments
Our Advertisers
Subscribe
About Children's Voice


Our Advertisers:

Association for Childhood Education International

Child Care Exchange

CWLA National Conference

Defran

Father Source

Furniture Concepts

Handel Information Technologies

One on One

Frequently Asked Questions from CWLA Members

As a CWLA member, you may wonder how to take advantage of member benefits and connect with others in the field. We've put together a list of frequently asked questions, so you know where to turn the next time you're looking for information. In every instance, your first point of contact should be your regional director. If, however, you're unable to reach your regional director, use the information below to reach other staff members at CWLA. To reach our main office by phone, call 703/412-2400.

Regional Directors, your first point of contact:



WESTERN REGION
Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and British Columbia (CA)
Your Regional Director: Cheryl Gully, cgully@cwla.org, 703/412-3174

MOUNTAIN PLAINS REGION
Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming
Your Regional Director: Brian Brant, bbrant@cwla.org, 703/412-3172

MID-WEST REGION
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, and Wisconsin
Your Regional Director: Jennifer Sharma, jsharma@cwla.org, 703/412-3177

SOUTHERN REGION
Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and Bermuda
Your Regional Director: Adrianne Lewis, alewis@cwla.org, 703/412-3175

MID-ATLANTIC REGION
Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and Ontario (CA)
Your Regional Director: Cassaundra Rainey, crainey@cwla.org, 703/412-3169

NEW ENGLAND REGION
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont
Your Regional Director: Louise Richmond, lrichmond@cwla.org, 703/412-3176

Frequently Asked Questions,

How do I ...

Access the members-only website? Where can I find my member number and password?
As a member you have access to exclusive information on our members-only website, including downloadable versions of CWLA Standards of Excellence. Go to our members-only site and enter your information. If you need help with your member number or password, contact Pat Donnelly (pdonnelly@cwla.org). Purchase gift items and greeting cards?
Order online through our website. You can also order customized greeting cards by phone by calling 703/412-2416.

Connect with other CWLA members doing similar work?
Your regional directors are your best resource for finding out about what other CWLA members are doing. Contact your regional director from the list above, and he or she will be able to lead you in the right direction.

Use member benefit hours?
Your regional director can let you know how many benefit hours you have available to use, as well as help you determine how you may want to use these hours.

Find a consultant?
In addition to CWLA staff, we have a pool of qualified contract consultants available to work with both CWLA member agencies and other organizations seeking our assistance. Our contract consultants bring a wide array of competencies and expertise and are a welcome addition to the CWLA consultation team. To find a consultant, contact Andrea Bartolo (abartolo@cwla.org).

Locate and print conference materials on your website?
Click here to see upcoming events and find links to conference programs and registration. For questions regarding program content for the National Conference, February 23-25, 2009, in Washington, DC, contact Dana Wilson (dwilson@cwla.org). For questions regarding conference registration, contact Nicky Dixon (ndixon@cwla.org).

Purchase CWLA publications or obtain articles?
To order books or training materials, visit our webstore online or call 800/407-6273. If you have trouble with either of these, contact Steve Boehm (sboehm@cwla.org). Abstracts for articles published in Child Welfare journal, as well as entire issues of Children's Voice, are online. For specific questions about articles from the journal or magazine, contact Emily Shenk (eshenk@cwla.org).

Find a speaker for an event I'm planning?
To find people able to speak about child welfare or related issues, contact Joyce Johnson (jjohnson@cwla.org).

Where can I find information about...

Standards of practice?
Go online for general information, as well as the links to purchase specific CWLA Standards of Excellence publications. CWLA member agencies can find most volumes available in PDF format on our members-only site. Contact Julie Collins (jcollins@cwla.org) with questions.

Child welfare data for my state?
Check the National Data Analysis System website, http://ndas.cwla.org . From there you can access state summary data sheets that allow for an 'at a glance' view of the states' data as well as outside resources on specific data topics. If you aren't able to find what you are looking for on the website, contact Connie Hayek (chayek@cwla.org)).

A program or practice area?
The Practice Areas page of our website will direct you to information on a variety topics, such as adoption, domestic violence, child mental health, housing and homelessness, and residential group care. For help finding an expert in a particular practice area, contact Paula Neese (pneese@cwla.org).

A policy issue?
To get information on legislation, visit www.cwla.org/advocacy and the website for the Library of Congress, Thomas. View more information about the White House Conference on Children and Youth. For all remaining questions, contact Tim Briceland-Betts (bricebet@cwla.org) or John Sciamanna (jsciamanna@cwla.org).

CWLA's next salary survey?
CWLA is working on a new salary survey, which will be published in late 2009. For specific questions about the survey, contact Aiyana Pucci (apucci@cwla.org).

Finance inquiries?
For questions regarding collection/accounts receivable, contact Sharon Morris (smorris@cwla.org). For questions regarding accounts payable, contact Maya Barbee (mbarbee@cwla.org ).

Can CWLA offer families help with a problem with their children? I need legal advice about adoption, kinship care, or children taken out of the state.
CWLA isn't able to give legal advice. Families can, however, contact their local United Way by dialing 211 on any phone. That will connect them directly to the United Way in the area, and they should be able to find information about their problem.


 Subscribe to Children's Voice Magazine

 Return to Table of Contents for this issue.


 Back to Top   Printer-friendly Page Printer-friendly Page

 Read selected articles from previous issues of Children's Voice
If you know of others who would like to subscribe to the Children's Voice, please have them visit www.cwla.org/pubs/periodicals.htm.

Copyright © 2008 Child Welfare League of America. All Rights Reserved.