Child Welfare League of America Making Children a National Priority


Child Welfare League of America Making Children a National Priority
About Us
Special Initiatives
News and Media Center
Research and Data
Conferences and Training
Culture and Diversity
Support CWLA
CWLA Members Only Content

Home > Practice Areas > Child Mental Health > About this Area of Focus


Dr. Alexander Gralnick Award

The Gralnick Award was established to recognize exemplary work in research on, treatment of, or advocacy for children and adolescents with schizophrenia. This award is given every two years; the winner is announced at CWLA's National Conference in Washington, DC.

Alexander Gralnick, who died in 1993, was the Medical Director of High Point Hospital in Port Chester, New York, and a prominent member of the American Psychiatric Association. Throughout his life, he demonstrated an unwavering commitment to the mental health needs of children and adolescents, in particular those with schizophrenia. The Gralnick Foundation, founded in 1951 to promote psychiatric research, provided the original grant that funded the award.


Individuals or organizations nominated for the award should demonstrate a commitment to improving the lives of children and adolescents with schizophrenia. Candidates may apply directly or be nominated by others. One prize will be awarded; when two candidates are equally and eminently qualified, the judges will split the award. Nominations are accepted for
  • researchers engaged in efforts to enhance the early detection, diagnosis, and treatment of schizophrenia in children and adolescents (research may be ongoing or completed in the last calendar year);

  • individuals or organizations working directly with children and adolescents with schizophrenia; and

  • individuals or organizations working indirectly to advance the cause of children and adolescents with schizophrenia (e.g., associations, educational organizations, advocates, hospitals, and clinics).

The Nomination Process

  1. Individuals and organizations may nominate themselves or be nominated by others. Interested individuals or organizations should complete and return the attached nomination form, by August 17th, 2012 along with the following materials:
    • A brief (300-word) essay detailing the candidate's work and why it is being nominated for the award;
    • An up-to-date curriculum vitae (for individuals nominated for the award);
    • A recent annual report (for organizations nominated for the award);
    • A description of the research project/grant (for researchers nominated for the award); and
    • Letters of support/reference from three colleagues/organizations
  2. Additional materials (references, testimonials, published or unpublished papers, and lists of other awards) may also be included in support of the nominee.
  3. Completed nomination packages (nomination form and materials listed above) should be submitted electronically to:

    Julie Collins
    1726 M Street NW, Suite 500
    Washington DC, 20036
    Phone: 202-688-4155
    Fax: 202-833-1689


All nominations will be judged by a distinguished panel of experts in the field of child mental health.

 Back to Top   Printer-friendly Page Printer-friendly Page   Contact Us Contact Us




About Us | Special Initiatives | Advocacy | Membership | News & Media Center | Practice Areas | Support CWLA
Research/Data | Publications | Webstore | Conferences/Training | Culture/Diversity | Consultation/Training

All Content and Images Copyright Child Welfare League of America. All Rights Reserved.
See also Legal Information, Privacy Policy, Browser Compatibility Statement

CWLA is committed to providing equal employment opportunities and access for all individuals.
No employee, applicant for employment, or member of the public shall be discriminated against
on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, or
any other personal characteristic protected by federal, state, or local law.